Site icon Book II

Book I – The Empath

Featured Image -- 1061
The original version was published in 2013
The re-vamped version was released in 2023

Runner up – Rainbow Awards 2014

Finalist – GCLS Goldie Awards 2015

What is The Above & Beyond Series?

The Empath is the first installment in the critically acclaimed and well loved Above & Beyond Series which follows Aeron Lorelei, Renee Black and Ursula Frei as they solve mysteries, save countless people, face the impossible and defy the odds. On their journey, the find friends, find themselves and learn to love and trust that all things are possible.

The Blurb

Aeron Lorelei is a young woman with a troubled past and a troubling gift. Blessed and cursed with the ability to sense the feelings, past, and future of those around her, Aeron lived as a misfit child. When she was sixteen, she took the blame for the death of her best friend’s little brother. Eleven years later she’s released from the correctional facility and must go back to her hometown–the scene of the crime that no one has forgotten.

But Aeron must deal with more than just animosity. Someone in town is abducting and killing young girls. Aeron becomes the number one suspect and her distant father, the specter of her grandmother, and her mysterious psychiatrist must work together to discover the real killer. To prove her innocence, Aeron is forced to use the gift she has spent her life hiding.

Aeron Lorelei is a young woman with a troubled past and an even more troubling gift. Blessed and burdened with the ability to sense the feelings and past of those around her, at sixteen, she was convicted of the death of her best friend’s little brother and sent to Serenity Hills, a Maximum Security institution with a sinister reputation.

Eleven years later, a mysterious yet beautiful psychiatrist, Doctor Serena Llys, champions her release however Aeron must return to her home town, the scene of the crime that no one has forgotten. Although she wishes to live a quiet life in Nan’s lonely cabin beside the river and to forget her burdens, she must deal with more than the animosity of the locals because someone in town is abducting and killing young girls.

When her estranged father and police chief drops a victim right to her door and locals in town point the blame her way, she is prepared to find herself in the dank Serenity Hills once more.
Even so, Aeron is not alone and her father and the mysterious Doctor Llys are determined to discover the real killer and prove her innocence.

But then Aeron’s own half-sisters are taken.

Only she can locate them.

Yes, to save those she loves, she will have to use the gifts she has spent her life hiding.

So much for a quiet life.

Reviews & Awards

The Rainbow Awards 2014
The Empath was 2014 Runner-up at the Rainbow Awards
She Magazine

The Readers

You can see what the folks on 

“This is more than a paranormal story, more than a murder mystery, more than a love story…”
“A compulsive read. The novel’s biggest strength is its fresh, engaging voice. Hat’s off for a brilliant debut novel and I look forward to the next one.”
“The book is well written and the plot and flow are superb…”


“Jody Klaire certainly knows how to do emotion. Joined with a killer plot and voices that pulled me deep into the story, this was one of those rare books that hooked me from the first page to the last and will stay with me for a very long time.”
“It’s well written and draws the reader in. There are no dull spots, the action is electric and gut wrenching at times but well worth reading to the end. However, it doesn’t end as this is only book 1. I look forward to reading the follow on.”
At one point I was so caught up with the visions I was breathless. Also well described is the pain and difficulty encountered in having the gift/curse of being able to ‘see’. Loved it.


“Great suspense,great emotional journey!! I recommend this book to all lovers of mystery.”


You can buy The Empath on Amazon in both paperback and hardback – just head to your home Amazon website and look for Jody Klaire – The above and beyond series.

Facebook Page!

Exit mobile version